Sweet success at last! Residents of NJ can now legally sell their homemade baked goods.
Home cooking for profit is finally legal in New Jersey.
The state’s health ministry on Monday released a set of rules that will allow bakers and pastry chefs to apply for a permit to operate a “country food” business from their own kitchens.
New Jersey was the only state in the country that prohibited culinary entrepreneurs from baking and selling cakes, brownies, and other delicacies from home. The state required that they operate from a commercial kitchen, out of health and safety concerns.
But the New Jersey Home Bakers Association and the Institute for Justice challenged the rule in court on constitutional grounds, arguing that it protected commercial bakers and other food manufacturers to the detriment of individuals who wanted a chance to win. extra money.
The Department of Health announced in July that it was removing restrictions on the sale of home baked goods. The new rules came into effect on Monday, as the state published the application for a license to operate a small-scale restaurant business in the New Jersey Register. The license, which must be renewed every two years, costs $ 100.
“Home bakers in New Jersey have fought for the right to cook for years. Today is the culmination of their hard work and time spent fighting for their rights, ”said Rob Peccola, attorney for the Institute for Justice, in a statement.
More than 80% of home bakers in the United States who responded to an Institute for Justice survey are female and have a median income of $ 36,000. For the majority, baking is a hobby or a chance to earn extra money. Half work full or part time, while almost a quarter are retired and 15% are identified as staying at home.
“The door is now open for bakers to be paid for their talents, just as any other professional is paid for their time and services,” said Mandy Coriston of Newton, a member of the New Jersey Home Bakers Association. “Most importantly, it gives consumers a new freedom of choice as to where they buy their baked goods and allows bakers from all walks of life to work where they feel most comfortable. : their house.
Home bakers must follow certain rules and certify that they will operate in a clean and safe environment. They can’t earn more than $ 50,000 a year. The home baker must be willing to submit to an on-site inspection if a complaint is made, according to the regulations.
These are limits to what can be produced and sold. These items include breads, cakes, cupcakes, cookies, pastries, candies, dried fruits, dry pasta, jams and jellies, fruit pies, fudge, granola, popcorn and caramel corn, roasted coffee, dried tea, herbs, pizzelles and more. State permission is required to craft additional items, according to the rules.
They must label their products with a list of ingredients and a notice that the food was prepared in a home kitchen that has not been inspected by the state.
“I’ve been a part of this effort since 2015, alongside the four amazing women who make up the board of directors of the New Jersey Home Bakers Association. I’m more than happy New Jersey has a cottage food law, ”said Martha Rabello of Fanwood, a plaintiff in the lawsuit. “I can’t wait to see New Jersey home bakers thrive. “
Thank you for relying on us to provide journalism you can trust. Please consider supporting NJ.com with a subscription.